Thursday, July 21, 2011

SAT Test Overview (SAT I, SAT II)

The SAT test, officially known as the SAT Reasoning Test is a standardized test for admission by most colleges and universities used. The SAT has a goal similar to the ACT test. Standardized tests like the SAT and ACT are used in the certification process with other factors such as class rank, GPA, community service, recommendations and extracurricular activities.

The SAT is to measure student knowledge of core areas: reading, writing and mathematics. Junior and senior high school usually take the SAT test scores range 200-800 for each section. There are seven SAT test dates for the United States, Puerto Rico and U.S. territories.

SAT I: Reasoning Test
The SAT Reasoning Test is a measure of critical thinking skills you need for academic success in school. The SAT assesses how well you analyze and solve problems of skills you learned in school that you need in school.

Each section of the SAT is scored on a scale of 200-800, and the writing section will contain two subscores. The SAT is usually handled by high school juniors and seniors. It is seven times a year in the United States, Puerto Rico and U.S. territories, and manages six times a year abroad.

Each issue of the SAT includes critical reading, mathematics and writing section with a certain number of questions about the content.

Critical Reading Section
The critical reading section, formerly known as the verbal section is short reading passages will be read with the existing include long passages. Analogies have been eliminated, but sentence-completion questions remain and questions while reading the passage.
Measures critical reading section:
  • Sentence Completion
  • Passage-based reading
Mathematics Section
The SAT includes expanded math topics, such as exponential growth, absolute value and functional notation, and place more emphasis on topics such as linear functions, manipulations with exponents, and properties of tangents.

Important skills earlier in the quantitative comparison format, such as estimation and measured sense for numbers, will continue to be measured by multiple choice and student response (grid-in) questions.

Students can use a four-function, scientific or graphing calculator. The College Board recommends that students use a calculator at least at the scientific level for the SAT, although it is still possible, every question without a calculator to solve.

The mathematics section has two types of questions:
  •  Multiple choice
  •  Student-produced response questions
Writing Section
The short essay measures your ability to:
  •  Organize and express ideas clearly
  •  Develop and support the main idea
  •  Use appropriate word choice and sentence structure   
You will be taken to develop a perspective on a topic, with reasons and evidence - based on your own experiences, readings or observations - to support to your ideas.

The test is used by trained teachers and students to mark in the school. Every reader will be the essay a score of 1 to 6 (6 is the highest score) based on the overall quality of the writing test and demonstration of your abilities.

SAT II: Subject Tests
Subject Tests (formerly SAT II: Subject Tests) are designed to your knowledge and skills in certain areas, as well as your ability to apply that knowledge measure.

Students take the Subject Tests to show colleges their mastery of specific subjects like English, history, mathematics, sciences and languages. The tests are independent of a textbook or method of teaching. Test content "changed to reflect current trends in high school curricula, but to alter the nature of the questions a little from year to year.

Many colleges use the Subject Tests for admission to a secure investment and advising students on course selection. In combination with other background information (your high school record, scores from other tests like the SAT Reasoning Test, teacher recommendations, etc.), they provide a reliable measure of your academic achievements and are a good predictor of future performance.

Some colleges specify the Subject Tests, which they can be used for admission or placement, and other candidates to choose which tests to take.

All tests are one hour multiple-choice tests. Subject Tests fall into five general areas:
Languages, English, Mathematics, History and Social Studies Science.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...